24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards

Columnists, Kim's Kronicles — By on January 6, 2015 at 8:20 am

Cover photo- Roger Guenveur Smith-Photo by Kim Webster. Inside photo- Toni Braxton(C) and sons Denim and Diezel pose for the carpet. Photo also by Kim Webster.

By Kim Webster

HOLLYWOOD CA – The people, the awards, the fabulous red carpet- all contribute to an evening of fun and excitement at the NAACP Theatre Awards.  Kym Whitley (OWN Network “Raising Whitley”) hosted the event.  Actor, director, cowboy Glynn Turman received the Lifetime Achievement Award.  He currently co-stars in the Showtime series “House of Lies.”  Actor, director, writer Roger Guenveur Smith received the Trailblazer Award.  His performance of Huey P. Newton in “A Huey P. Newton Story” won a Peabody and NAACP Award.   Grammy winning vocalist, actress, songwriter Toni Braxton was presented the Spirit Award by Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds. Their new recording “Love-Marriage-Divorce” tells an intimate story of the perils of love.  Byron K. Reed, Sr VP & Director of Community Relations for LA Metro/Orange County Region, West Coast Government & Community Relations Group received the Community Service Award. John Sotoodeh President/Wells Fargo Southern CA Regional Bank received the President’s Award.

Glynn and Jo Ann Turman. Photo by Kim Webster.

Other awardees include:  Phylicia Rashad/Best Director – Equity/ “Joe Turner’s Come and Gone”;  Ameenah Kaplan/Best Choreography – Equity/ “The Royale”; Michael Mullen/Best Costumes-Local/ “Dreamgirls”;  Marco Gomez/Best Director of a Musical – Local/ “Dreamgirls”; “One Night in Miami”/Best Ensemble Cast; Keturah Baker/Best Lead Female – Local/ “Sick & Tired”; Rahn Coleman/Best Music Director/”Breath & Imagination”; Darryl Alan Reed/Best Supporting Male – Equity/ “The Road Weeps, the Well Runs Dry”; Sabrina Elayne Carten/Best Supporting Female – Equity/ “One Night with Janis Joplin”; Brian L. Gale/Best Lighting – Equity/ “12 Angry Men”;  Oscar Best/Best Lead Male – Local/ “Blood Knot”; David Carreno/Best Lighting– Local/ “Steel Magnolias”; Stephan Grove Malloy/Best Supporting Male – Local/ “The Good Negro”; Jozanne Marie/Best One Person Show – Local/ “Beautiful.” For a complete list, please go to  http:bhwdnaacptheatreawards.com.

Tiffany Snow and Ernest Thomas. Photo by Kim Webster.

Kym Whitley, who hosted the extravaganza, poses on the carpet. Photo by Kim Webster.

Anderson William. Photo by Kim Webster.

Byron K. Reed. Photo by Kim Webster.

Comments are closed.