HAL AWARDS Celebrate Silver (25th) Anniversary

Columnists, Community News, Kim's Kronicles — By on October 22, 2014 at 3:36 am

Cover Photo- Mary Wilson. Inside photo- Motown Alum Berry Gordy(L) and Clarence Avant (R) present Triumph Award to the new President of Motown Records Ethiopia Habtemariam. (C) Photo by Kim Webster.

By Kim Webster

HOLLYWOOD CA –  It was 25 years ago that Janie Bradford founded the Heroes and Legends (HAL) Awards foundation to honor artists and provide scholarships to exemplary students.  Jo Marie Payton hosted this year’s event held at The Roosevelt Hotel, which was the original venue 25 years ago.

Mary Wilson. Photo by Kim Webster.

Ray Parker Jr presented the HAL Icon Award to legendary Supreme Mary Wilson, who took the audience down memory lane with a medley of Supreme hits, including an inspirational song performed a cappella.  Claudette Robinson and CJ Emmons performed a duet and other favorite songs were performed by Dennis Edwards, Freda Payne, Take, Mary Jane Girls, Brenda Holloway, Betty Kelly, Lenny Williams, Louis Price, Kevin Ross, Beth Griffith, and BJ the Chicago Kid.   The audience was also filled with Motown alumni including Faye Hale, former VP of Manufacturing, Rebecca Jiles former Secretary, and Deborah Ducre former Head of Communications and many legendary others.  A memorial tribute celebrated the lives of Motown family members including the legendary Maxwell Powell, Director of Artist Development who taught etiquette and style to all Motown artists.

Take 6. Photo by Kim Webster.

HAL Award honorees for 2014 are:  New Edition – Legacy Award, Mary Jane Girls – Pacesetter Award, Take 6 – Outstanding Achievement in Music Award, Eddie Floyd – Pioneer Award, Ryan Press – Leadership Award, and President of Motown Records Ethiopia Habtemariam – Triumph Award.

(L to R) Ani Hesse, Christopher Rockefeller, Khristiana Parchman, Dandan Xu. Photo by Kim Webster.

Co-Chairs of the HAL Awards Claudette Robinson and Miller London presented Scholarship Awards to the following: Ani Hesse, Christopher Rockefeller,  Khristiana Parchman and Dandan Xu.   For more information, please go to info@halawards.com or call 310 274-1609.

Comments are closed.